AGENDA AOTEA CONSERVATION COLLABORATION WORKSHOP SHARING GOALS AND PRIORITES FOR THE PROTECTION AND RESTORATION OF AOTEA

Where Claris Conference Centre, Monday 18 November, 8.45am-2.30pm

Purpose - To identify shared conservation priorities for ecosystem restoration on Aotea.

Time	Activity	How and who
From 8.30am	Arrive and register	Tea and coffee available
		Find your allocated group
8.45-9.00	Welcome	Karakia (Jason Wii)
		H&S, Ground rules (Izzy)
		How we will work (Kate)
9.00-9.30	Introductions	All participants – interactive
		Your name, role, whanau, what you love most
		about Aotea
9.30-10.30	Setting the context – 6 key	Group work on Biodiversity, Biosecurity, Treaty,
	topics	Marine, Community & Economic, Other trends
10.30-10.45		MORNING TEA
10.45-12.00	Value, Threats, Action Areas	Group work – identifying shared value, key
		threats to value, and shared basis for action
12.00-12.30	LUNCH	
12.30-1.15	Review organisational goals and	Group work to consider how projects contribute
	planned projects	to shared value and threats
1.15-2.15	Defining shared goals and	Group work and discussion – common goals, key
	priorities	projects, gaps and next steps
2.15-2.30pm	Close	Closing reflections (All)
		Karakia (Jason Wii)

Session outcomes

- 1. Shared understanding amongst all participants of the context for conservation related activity on Aotea over the next 3 years
- 2. Shared understanding of the proposed work programmes and priorities of each organisation over the next 3 years
- 3. Agreed shared goals for 2020, and over the next 3 years
- 4. Agreed areas for collaboration (these may be projects, places, species etc)
- 5. A story and key messages for the community and other stakeholders.

Facilitator Kate Waterhouse

PARTICIPANTS

Organisation/Project	Who
DOC	George Taylor – Manager, DOC Aotea
	Sarah Dwyer – DOC Aotea
	Ian McNickle – DOC Aotea
	Miranda O'Connell – Partnerships Manager, Auckland Region
LOCAL BOARD	Izzy Fordham (Chair)
	Sue Daly (Elected member)
	Luke Coles (Elected member)
	Valmaine Toki (Elected member)
	Patrick O'Shea (Elected member)
NRNWKA Trust	Valmaine Toki (Interim trustee, also Local Board, Sea Change
	MAC)
	Jason Wii (Interim trustee)
	Kelly Klink (Administrator, also Protect Aotea)
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES (AC)	Shanti Morgan – Biosecurity Officer
	Jeremy Warden – Biosecurity Officer
	Thomas Daly – Biodiversity Officer
	Imogen Bassett – Principal Advisor, Environmental Services
PLANS & PLACES (AUCKLAND	Alison Pye (North West & Islands)
COUNCIL)	Petra Burns (Northwest & Islands)
AOTEA CONSERVATION PARK	Nicola Macdonald (Chair, also NRNWKA, Auckland
ADVISORY COMMITTEE (ACPAC)	Conservation Board)
ECOLOGY VISION	Taryn Wilks - Facilitator (also Protect Aotea)
WINDY HILL	Judy Gilbert – Sanctuary Manager (also Sanctuaries New
	Zealand board)
	John Ogden – Science advisor (also Medlands)
ORUAWHARO MEDLANDS	Anna Marie Clough – Project lead
COMMUNITY PROJECT	(and John Ogden)
GLENFERN AND KOTUKU	Sarah Mathews – Sanctuary Manager
PENINSULA TRUST	(Also Izzy Fordham, Jo O'Reilly as trustees)
OKIWI COMMUNITY PROJECT	Jo O'Reilly- Project lead
MOTU KAIKOURA TRUST	Sue Daly - trustee
PROTECT AOTEA	Elise Bishop
	(Also Taryn Wilks, Kelly Klink)
GREAT BARRIER ISLAND	Kate Waterhouse – Chair (also ACPAC, Auckland Conservation
ENVIRONMENTAL TRUST	Board)
	Marea Gorter (Coordinator)

Apologies:

Scott da Silva, Rachel Kelleher (Regional Parks), Louise Mack (DOC), Emma Waterhouse (GBIET and Glenfern/KPCT), Jonathan Miles (Auckland Council Biosecurity)